University Standards

Running any kind of mentoring programme in a university involves a separate set of skills and an understanding of the complex nature of the life of a university.

Types of university mentoring programmes may include amongst others:

  • Peer (student to student);
  • Peer (staff to staff);
  • Career;
  • Reverse (student to staff).

We recognise those who have invested time and resource to making their mentoring programme a high-quality impactful developmental programme for their community.

The National University Mentoring Standards reflect evidence-based good practice throughout the seven pillars and are especially written by those who have experience of developing university-based mentoring programmes.

They reflect the good practice tiers of university mentoring programmes and award those programmes with a national kitemark of good practice, supporting the image and status of the university itself. In turn helping to attract quality staff and students to the university.

For those universities who coordinate multiple mentoring programmes through one role or team, achieving the accreditation reflects the high-quality impact that has been evidenced through that university-level investment.

Download the standards:

Ready to start entering your submission? Register now to access the submission form.